Departmental Scholarships

J.C. Robinson Memorial Scholarship

For students with an interest in Hispanic History and Culture

Eligible applicants are CSUSB students majoring in History who will have received 12 units in courses on Hispanic history/culture by the end of the spring 2017 quarter, who are either juniors or seniors, and who will be returning for the 2017-18 academic year. The J.C. Robinson Memorial Scholarship is for students with an interest in Hispanic history and culture. Please submit an application (found in SB-327) and a writing sample of any length.

Robert Blackey Scholarship

For students with an interest in History education

Eligible applicants are History majors with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Preference will be given to students seeking a career in either secondary school or higher education, though in some circumstances, consideration may be given to a History major with another career goal. Please submit an application (found in SB-327) and a brief statement about your plans for a career teaching history.

Schofield-McAfee Award

By nomination only

Established in 2010, the Schofield-McAfee award honors two professors emeriti of the history department, Kent Schofield and Ward McAfee, both of whom were great intellectual contributors to the department and university. Junior students who are returning in the Fall for the next year and have a GPA between 2.5 and 3.5, work hard, attend classes, and whose academic work has improved over time because of their efforts, are automatically nominated by professors every year. This award is made by nomination of the faculty only, and is not applied for by students.

Applications for the Robinson and Blackey awards can be obtained from the History Department (SB-327) and should be dropped off in Professor Jeremy Murray’s mailbox.
Applications are due by Friday, April 21, 2017

Questions should be directed to Professor Jeremy Murray at